<-- Previous EpisodeNext Episode -->

Battlestar Galactica: The Oath (1)

Loyalties are made clear when Gaeta orchestrates a coup d'état of the Adama regime. Both prisoners and lives are taken as many of the fed up people work to take over Galactica.

Episode Info

Episode number: 4x13
Production Number: 415
Airdate: Friday January 30th, 2009

Director: John Dahl
Writer: Mark Verheiden

Alternate Airdates:

UK (sky 1) Feb 03, 2009


Guest Stars
Richard Hatch (1)Richard Hatch (1)
As Tom Zarek
Sebastian SpenceSebastian Spence
As Narcho

Co-Guest Stars
Michael Hogan (1)Michael Hogan (1)
As Saul Tigh
Aaron DouglasAaron Douglas
As Galen Tyrol
Tahmoh PenikettTahmoh Penikett
As Karl "Helo" Agathon
Michael TruccoMichael Trucco
As Sam Anders
Alessandro JulianiAlessandro Juliani
As Felix Gaeta
Bodie OlmosBodie Olmos
As Lt. Brenden "Hotdog" Constanza
Ryan RobbinsRyan Robbins
As Charlie Connor
Keegan Connor TracyKeegan Connor Tracy
As Jeanne
Mike DopudMike Dopud
As Specialist Gage
Ty OlssonTy Olsson
As Capt. Aaron Kelly
Leah CairnsLeah Cairns
As Lt. Margaret "Racetrack" Edmondson
Jennifer HalleyJennifer Halley
As SP2 Dianna "Hardball" Seelix
Brad DryboroughBrad Dryborough
As Hoshi
Colin LawrenceColin Lawrence
As Ensign Hamish "Skulls" McCall
Alexandra ThomasAlexandra Thomas
As Hera
Derek DeLostDerek DeLost
As Specialist Vireem
Vincent GaleVincent Gale
As Chief Peter Laird
Colin CorriganColin Corrigan
As Marine Allan Nowart
Michael LeisenMichael Leisen
As Pvt. Stewart Jaffee
Lara GilchristLara Gilchrist
As Paulla Schaffer
Andrew McIlroyAndrew McIlroy
As Jacob Cantrell
Judith MaxieJudith Maxie
As Picon Delegate
Iris PalulyIris Paluly
As Speaking Delegate #2
Marilyn NorryMarilyn Norry
As Reza Chronides
Craig VeroniCraig Veroni
As LCpl Eduardo Maldonaldo
Veena SoodVeena Sood
As Quorum Delegate
Alain ChanoineAlain Chanoine
As Marine Reb
Main Cast
Edward James OlmosEdward James Olmos
As William Adama
Mary McDonnellMary McDonnell
As Laura Roslin
Katee SackhoffKatee Sackhoff
As Kara "Starbuck" Thrace
Jamie BamberJamie Bamber
As Lee "Apollo" Adama
James CallisJames Callis
As Dr. Gaius Baltar
Tricia HelferTricia Helfer
As Number Six
Grace ParkGrace Park
As Sharon "Boomer" Valerii/Sharon "Athena" Agathon
Episode Notes
Survivor count: 39,643

This episode was originally to be directed by Kevin Smith, best known as the writer/director of the comedic View Askew films. However, due to a series of mis-communications, the episode wound up being double-booked along with John Dahl who ultimately got the job.

Episode Quotes
Tigh: Lee's giving the Quorum a shove, but it'd take a cavity search to find the backbone in that sorry bunch.

(a marine puts a gun to Lee's head)
Connor: So where are your precious Cylons now?
(the marine is shot from behind; his body drops to reveal Kara, gun in hand)
Kara: (to the other mutineers) Take it from someone who died once, it's no fun. Let him go.
Skulls: Frak you.
(Kara shoots him in the shoulder)
Kara: I could do this all day. Who's next?

Adama: You killed this boy.
Gaeta: Admiral Adama, I am removing you from command of this ship. I am taking you into custody on the charge of treason.
Adama: You swore an oath when you put that uniform on. You pledged to defend this ship and her crew.
Gaeta: You swore the same allegance. What happened to your oath? For seven years, I have done my frakking job and for what? To take orders from a Cylon? To let machines network our ship? No, you - you are not the leader that you were when we started. You're just a sad old man that has let his heart and his affection for a Cylon cloud his judgment.
Adama: I want you all to understand this! If you do this, there will be no forgiveness. No amnesty. This boy died honouring his uniform. You, you'll die with nothing.

Other Episode Crew

DeveloperRonald D. Moore
Executive ProducerRonald D. Moore  |  David Eick
Co-Executive ProducerMark Verheiden
ProducerHarvey Frand
Co-ProducerPaul M. Leonard
Consulting ProducerGlen A. Larson
Associate ProducerGregg Tilson
Production DesignerRichard Hudolin
EditorJulius Ramsay
First Assistant DirectorMichael Shandley
Second Assistant DirectorKate Weiss
MusicBear McCreary
Costume DesignerGlenne Campbell
HairstylistForest Sala
Property MasterKen Hawryliw
Production AssistantJessica Sawaf  |  Keith McQuiggan
Assistant EditorMichael Lim
Post Production SupervisorIan Maddox
Director of PhotographyStephen McNutt
Stunt CoordinatorRick Pearce
Post Production CoordinatorBettina Zachariah Treviranus
Based On The Works OfGlen A. Larson
Third Assistant DirectorTroy Scott
ConsultantJerry Hultsch
Visual Effects SupervisorGary Hutzel
Sound AssistantMatt Willoughby-Price
Casting AssociateSibby Kirchgessner
Assistant Costume DesignerGlenna Owen
Makeup ArtistPatricia Murray
Trainee Assistant DirectorMarian Koprada
Camera TraineeDave Patterson
CGI ArtistSean Jackson (2)  |  Michael Davidson (2)  |  James Ford (2)
1st Assistant Production CoordinatorLaura Livingstone
2nd Assistant Production CoordinatorNicole Stojkovich
Color TimerRon Nichols (2)
Location AssistantAdrian Lysenko  |  Julian Marles
Special Effects AssistantRon Seida
1st Assistant Hair StylistAnne Carroll (3)
Military Tech AdvisorRon Blecker
On Set CarpenterMatt Clancy
2nd Assistant Hair StylistRene Dombroski
Rigging Lamp OpMaria Stanborough
2nd Unit Production CoordinatorHon Lui
Missing Information
Click here to add Music
Click here to add Episode Goofs
Click here to add Cultural References
Click here to add Episode References
Click here to add Analysis