Dark Shadows (1966)

Collection 16
Released On: January 25, 2005
Region: 1
Production Company: MPI Home Video

The original television cult classic

With its alluring tales of Gothic mystery and supernatural intrigue, Dark Shadows became one of the most popular daytime series of all time. Since first airing on ABC-TV from 1966-71, Dark Shadows has earned the reputation as being one of the most unusual and enduring programs in television history. The character of Barnabas Collins, a guilt-ridden 175 year-old vampire, brought the show tremendous success.

In 1897, Quentin Collins and servant Beth Chavez attempt to rescue Barnabas Collins from a chained coffin where he has been imprisoned by the devious Count Petofi. King Johnny Ramano arrives in Collinsport with a gang of gypsies, seeking revenge against Magda for stealing the magical hand of Petofi. Artist Charles Delaware Tate sees Amanda Harris and is surprised to recognize her as the fantasy woman he has painted. Quentin is shocked to discover from a possessed Jamison Collins that Quentin's ghost is menacing Collinwood in the 20th century, causing David Collins to hover near death. Charity Trask finds Barnabas' hiding place and plans to destroy the vampire. Hoping to save Barnabas, Julia Hoffman conducts an I Ching ceremony in 1969 and is transported back in time to 1897.

Number of Discs: 4
Number of Episodes: 40
Running Time: 840 mins
Video: Full Frame (1.33:1)
Audio: English - Dolby Digital Mono
Subtitles: None/Unknown

Exclusive interviews with actors David Selby and Nancy Barrett, creator/executive producer Dan Curtis and associate producer George DiCenzo.

Other DVD Merchandise
The Curse of The Vampire(September 15, 2009)
The Haunting of Collinwood(September 15, 2009)
The Beginning, Vol. 6: Episodes 179 - 209(October 28, 2008)
The Beginning, Vol. 5: Episodes 144 - 178(July 29, 2008)
The Beginning, Vol. 4: Episodes 106 - 143(April 29, 2008)
The Beginning, Vol. 3: Episodes 71 - 105(February 26, 2008)
Collection 26(September 26, 2006)
Collection 25(July 25, 2006)
Collection 24(May 30, 2006)
Collection 23(March 28, 2006)
Collection 22(January 31, 2006)
Collection 20(September 27, 2005)
Collection 19(July 26, 2005)
Collection 18(May 31, 2005)
Collection 17(March 29, 2005)
Collection 14(September 28, 2004)
Collection 13(July 27, 2004)
Collection 12(May 24, 2004)
Collection 11(March 30, 2004)
Collection 10(January 27, 2004)
Collection 09(November 25, 2003)
Collection 08(October 28, 2003)
Collection 07(August 26, 2003)
Collection 06(June 24, 2003)
Collection 05(April 29, 2003)
Collection 04(February 25, 2003)
Collection 03(October 29, 2002)
Dark Shadows (Special Edition)(September 21, 1999)
Network: ABC ( USA)
Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama, Horror/Supernatural, Mystery, Soaps
Status: Canceled/Ended
Airs: Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays
Runtime: 30 Minutes
Premiere: June 27, 1966
Ended: April 02, 1971
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor