Login or register  

Doctor Who (1963)

Show Tidbits
Tom Baker (The Fourth Doctor) and Colin Baker (The Sixth Doctor) are of no relation.
Patrick Troughton (The Second Doctor) and Nicholas Courtney (Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart) are the only actors to the play the same character in the series in the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s.
John Scott Martin, who was the principal Dalek operator from 1965 to 1988, is the only actor to work with all seven Doctors on the series while Nicholas Courtney (Bret Vyon/Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart) and Anthony Ainley (The Master) are the only actors to work with six of the seven Doctors. Courtney worked with all of them besides Colin Baker while Ainley worked with all of them besides William Hartnell.
Colin Baker is the only actor to play the Doctor to have previously appeared on the series in another role. He played Commander Maxil in the 1983 serial Arc of Infinity alongside his predecessor, Peter Davison.
Peter Davison (the Fifth Doctor), Elisabeth Sladen (Sarah Jane Smith) and John Leeson (K-9) are the only actors to play the same character in both this series and the revived Doctor Who series.
Only three cast members stayed with the series for five seasons or more: Jon Pertwee (The Third Doctor) from 1970 to 1974, Nicholas Courtney (Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart) from 1970 to 1975 and Tom Baker (The Fourth Doctor) from 1974 to 1981.
Sylvester McCoy (The Seventh Doctor) is the only Doctor who never appeared with any of the other six on the series.
Bonnie Langford (Mel) is the only regular cast member born after the series began on November 23, 1963. She was born on July 22, 1964, eight months after "An Unearthly Child" was first broadcast.
Of the 253 episodes produced during the 1960s, 108 are missing from the BBC archives. They were wiped in the late 1960s and early 1970s. All of these episodes are in black-and-white and feature either William Hartnell or Patrick Troughton as the Doctor. As a result, only 23 of the 50 Doctor Who stories produced during the period 1963-1969 exist in their entirety.
Elisabeth Sladen (Sarah Jane Smith) was the longest running female cast member in the series' history. She was regular for three and a half seasons, from 1973 to 1976.
Tom Baker (The Fourth Doctor) was the longest running Doctor on the series, appearing in the role for seven seasons, while Colin Baker (The Sixth Doctor) was the shortest, appearing in the role for only two seasons.
Besides the Doctor, the longest running character on the series was Colonel/Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart (Nicholas Courtney). He made his first appearance in "The Web of Fear, Part Three" on February 17, 1968 and his last in "Battlefield, Part Four" on September 27, 1989.
The Daleks were the only antagonists to encounter all seven incarnations of the Doctor featured on the series. In second place are the Cybermen who came up against every Doctor with the exception of the Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee).
Tegan Jovanka (Janet Fielding) was the longest-running companion in the series' history. She made her first appearance in "Logopolis, Part One" on February 28, 1981 and her last in "Resurrection of the Daleks, Part Four" on February 15, 1984.
Dr. Elizabeth "Liz" Shaw (Caroline John) was the only companion to never travel in the TARDIS.
Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen) was the only companion to serve two complete seasons, each with a different Doctor.
The Doctor, the Master, Davros, Sarah Jane Smith, K-9, Rassilon, William Shakespeare and Queen Elizabeth I are the only characters to appear in both this series and the revived Doctor Who series.

Warning: Doctor Who (1963) guide may contain spoilers
Classification: Scripted
Genre: Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
Status: Canceled
Network: BBC one ( United Kingdom)
Airs: Saturdays at 05:15 pm
Runtime: 25 Minutes
Premiere: November 23, 1963
Ended: December 06, 1989
• Favorite Doctor ?

The Eighth Doctor (Paul McGann)
The Fifth Doctor (Peter Davison)
The First Doctor (William Hartnell)
The Fourth Doctor (Tom Baker)
The Second Doctor (Patrick Troughton)
The Seventh Doctor (Sylvester McCoy)
The Sixth Doctor (Colin Baker)
The Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee)
View Results
This guide is currently edited by:
Gus (Challenge)