Login or register  
<-- Previous EpisodeNext Episode -->

Mission: Impossible: The Diamond

A dictator, Prime Minister Henrik Durvard, has taken a rare diamond from a local tribe and plans to use it to finance his operations. The team rig up an elaborate fake diamond-duplicating machine to convince Durvard to give them the original.

Episode Info

Episode number: 1x19
Production Number: 119
Airdate: Saturday February 04th, 1967

  • Currently 7/10
7/10 (3 Votes cast)
Guest Stars
John van Dreelen
As Prime Minister Henrik Durvard

Co-Guest Stars
Harry Davis
As Hans Van Meer
Woodrow Parfrey
As Henks
Ivor Barry
As Ian McCloud
Peter Bourne
As Peters

Jason Johnson
As Proprietor
Main Cast
Steven Hill (1)
As Daniel Briggs
Martin Landau
As Rollin Hand
Barbara Bain
As Cinnamon Carter
Greg Morris
As Barney Collier
Peter Lupus
As Willy Armitage
Bob Johnson (1)
voiced The IMF Voice


Dan arrives at a book collector’s office and exchanges sign and countersign. Dan picks up his tape and is briefed on Henrik Durvard, who has seized power in Lombwanda. He has taken a $30 million diamond from the tribesmen who found it and plans to take over independent tribal areas in his country. The IMF must recover the diamond...

Read the full recap
Episode Quotes
Rollin: I’m kind of sorry.
Barney: Why?
Rollin: Well, for a while there I almost believed it really could produce diamonds.
Dan: It did. The one we were after.

This episode, an example of Woodfield's interest in confidence games, is basically the story of Count Victor Lustig's money machine, more generally known as the "money box" or "salting the mine." Like many confidence games, it exploits the mark's greed.

Other Episode Crew

CreatorBruce Geller
ProducerJoseph Gantman
Associate ProducerBarry Crane
CastingJoseph D'Agosta
Music EditorJerry MacDonald
HairstylistAdele Taylor (1)
Key GripRoss Cannon
Set DecoratorLucien Hafley
Property MasterArthur Wasson
Production AssistantPhilip D. Fehrle
Script SupervisorAlan Greedy
GafferBobby Jones (2)
Director of PhotographyGert Andersen
Production SupervisorWilliam Eatherly
Art DirectorJan Van Tamelen  |  Rolland M. Brooks
Sound EditorJohn Post
Special EffectsJohn Burke (3)
Costume SupervisorSabine Manela  |  Forrest T. Butler
Main Title ThemeLalo Schifrin
Film EditorStanley Rabjohn
Assistant DirectorDavid Hawks
Sound EngineerCarl Daniels
Executive In Charge Of ProductionHerbert F. Solow
Music ConsultantWilbur Hatch
Post Production ExecutiveBill Heath
Makeup ArtistDan Striepeke
Script ConsultantAllan Balter  |  William Read Woodfield
Warning: Mission: Impossible season 1 episode 19 guide may contain spoilers
Recent news

EastEnders Cast Maria Friedman as Elaine Peacock, Linda Carter's Mother

Maria Friedman will be guest starring in ‘Eastenders’ later this..

BBC Commissions A Second Series of 'In the Club'

Kay Mellor’s BBC One drama, ‘In the Club’ has been commissioned for..

Lily James On Rose Getting Romantic On Downton

Whilst attending the official press launch for the new series, I was able..