Secret Diary of a Call Girl


Reviews: 1
secret life of a call girlRating: 3 likes, 6 dislikes
The Secret Life of a Call Girl means to take a light-hearted insider's view of the occupation. Fetching, youthful Billie Piper (who's own real life exploits & career suggests someone who is very familiar about living life in the fast lane) provides a certain insouciance which is appealing but the scripts--all written by women it appears--don't give her much support. The writing is not nearly as darkly witty or insightful as it promises to be. There are hints here and there of Belle's interior emotional life which is only slightly illuminated by her continued close relationship with her confused & curious ex-lover, Ben. But there are other moments, such as when her dad asks Belle what she's been up to lately to which she responds wordlessly which incurs a seemingly knowing, unspoken nod from dad, that mean to be subtle but are still vague. Does Dad REALLY know? And capable veteran actress Cherie Lunghi as Belle's client booker is sadly under-used.The series also shies away from being erotic or explicit. Not to sound as if we advocate exploitation of young actresses, but Ms. Piper's physical attributes are not on display much, a chasteness that is at odds with the protagonist's daring lifestyle (or is it Ms. Piper's own physical shyness?) The opening theme music works well at creating a bit of naughty, frothy atmosphere--hip London after dark---but the soft focus graphics suggests a tawdry 16 mm soft core film. What could be a frothy, insightful romp in a world many of us do not know but perhaps remain secretly curious about, ultimately comes off as a mere tease, a kind of Xavier Hollander Lite. Perhaps the series can be a bit more penetrating (pardon the pun) or insightful if there is a 2nd run.

Review posted on Sunday, January 20th 2008 at 7:31 pm

Network: itv2 ( United Kingdom)
Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama
Status: Canceled/Ended
Airs: Thursdays at 10:00 pm
Runtime: 30 Minutes
Premiere: September 27, 2007
Ended: March 22, 2011
Episodes Order: 8
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor