The Early Show

The Early Show

The Early Show began on November 1, 1999 replacing, CBS News This Morning, which is one of many former morning programs aired on CBS. It made sense to name it "The Early Show" since it is paired with "The Late Show". The topic was originally a light news broadcast to go along with The CBS Evening News and other CBS news programs. However, it also goes along with the extremely light news broadcasts of The Late Show (late night talk show hosts briefly go over news articles and then add comedic commentaries to them before going to other segments and performances and guest interviews) just like how NBC's Today Show goes along with The Tonight Show. The interviewing hosts of The Early Show were Bryant Gumbel, Jayne Clayson with weather broadcaster Mark McEwen, and news desk anchor Julie Chen.

In 2002, there was a cast shuffling and Julie Chen is now hosting with Harry Smith, a host of Biography, and also one of the earlier former CBS morning show hosts. Hannah Storm and Renee Syler also joined the cast with the extremely energetic weather broadcaster, Dave Price. The news desk anchor is not known during this time period. If you know who this person is, please submit the information!!

In 2006, all CBS news shows recieved upgrades for their studios, resulting in all of them looking similar. Russ Mitchell became a news desk anchor for The Early Show on December 7, 2006. Renee Syler left The Early Show on December 22, 2006. Hannah Storm left on December 7, 2007. Maggie Rodriguez joined the cast on January 7, 2008.

There are several substitute hosts for The Early Show, which are usually the hosts of The Saturday Early Show. These people are Jeff Glor, Chris Wragge, and Lonnie Quinn. Ever since Russ Mitchell transferred to The Early Show, there was a gap in a regular host for the Saturday position. The same thing has happened when Maggie Rodriguez transferred, which there does not appear to be a regular replacement for her.

Episode Info

Final: 10x130 -- Season 10, Episode 130 (Mar/06/2009)

Jeff GlorJeff Glor
As Himself (News Anchor 2011-2012)
Chris WraggeChris Wragge
As Himself (Co-Anchor 2011-2012)
Erica HillErica Hill
As Herself (News Anchor 2010-2011; Co-Anchor 2010-2012)
Maggie RodriguezMaggie Rodriguez
As Herself (Co-Anchor 2008-2010)
Russ MitchellRuss Mitchell
As Himself (News Anchor 2007-2010)
Harry SmithHarry Smith
As Himself (Co-Anchor 2002-2010)
Julie ChenJulie Chen
As Herself (News Anchor 1999-2007; Co-Anchor 2002-2010)
Hannah StormHannah Storm
As Herself (Co-Anchor 2002-2007)
René SylerRené Syler
As Herself (Co-Anchor 2002-2006)
Bryant GumbelBryant Gumbel
As Himself (Co-Anchor 1999-2002)

view full cast list, character guides

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet

Executive Producer: Shelley Ross

View full crew list
Recurring Guests

Bobby Flay (15 eps)
Dave Price (6 eps)
Tori Ritchie (5 eps)
Julianne Moore (4 eps)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus (4 eps)
Mark Wahlberg (4 eps)
Daniel Radcliffe (4 eps)
Beyoncé Knowles (3 eps)
Jodie Foster (3 eps)
Steve Carell (3 eps)

View All Recurring Guests
Classification: News
Genre: Current Events | Interview
Status: Canceled/Ended
Network: CBS ( USA)
Airs: Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays at 07:00 am
Runtime: 120 Minutes
Premiere: November 06, 1999
Ended: January 07, 2012
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor