The Simpsons

The Complete Seventh Season

Released On: December 13, 2005
Region: 1
Production Company: 20th Century Fox

Broadcast in 1995, season seven features several signature episodes, including Part II of "Who Shot Mr. Burns?," "Bart Sells His Soul," and "Two Bad Neighbors" where former President George Herbert Walker Bush moves into the neighborhood (an episode gamely playing on the former President’s open dislike for the show). One of The Simpsons’s most definitive episodes, "Treehouse of Horror VI" famously broke the third wall by using the then-groundbreaking CGI technology to render Homer first in a 3-D world, then in real life, (despite the evolution in his form, he naturally ends up in an erotic cake shop). As the producers openly note on the commentary, it was a big deal at the time, and super expensive, which is why they could only do a few minutes of footage in CGI (some fans will particularly enjoy the revealing commentary on this one, as the producers explain the many visual puns and math jokes appearing in the background of the 3-D world). It’s a great example of how The Simpsons continued to play with its visual style and take creative risks years into its run. In fact, one of the best episodes on this collection, "The Simpsons 138th Episode Spectacular" proves just how far the look and style of the show really came during that time. Hosted by actor Troy McClure (voiced by the late comic great Phil Hartman), it presents never-before-seen outtakes and original footage from the show’s debut days on The Tracey Ullman Show, while taking a few self-referential digs at show creators Matt Groening, James Brooks, and Sam Simon. Other gems include "Homerpalooza" where Homer thanks guests The Smashing Pumpkins for their gloomy music because it has made his kids "stop wishing for a future I can’t possibly provide," and "Bart the Fink" where Bart inadvertently gets Krusty the Clown busted for tax "avoision".

Format: Animated, Box set, Closed-captioned, Colour, Dolby, Dubbed, DVD-Video, Full Screen, Subtitled, NTSC
Languages: English, Spanish
Subtitles: English, Spanish
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
Number of discs: 4
Rated: Unrated
Run Time: 571 minutes

Special Features:
* Audio Commentaries on Every Episode
* "3-D Homer"
* Matt's Introduction
* Soups On with Paul & Linda McCartney
* Animation Showcases and Storyboards
* Illustrated Commentary
* Deleted Scenes Intro by Bill Oakley, Josh Weinstein, David Mirkin
* Deleted Scenes Gallery with Optional Commentary
* Sketch Gallery

Other DVD Merchandise
The Complete 20th Season [Blu-ray](January 12, 2010)
The Complete 20th Season(January 12, 2010)
Season 12(September 02, 2009)
The Complete 12th Season(August 18, 2009)
The Complete 12th Season (Limited Edition Comic Book Guy Head Packaging)(August 18, 2009)
The Complete Eleventh Season (Limited Edition Krusty Head)(October 07, 2008)
The Complete 11th Season(October 07, 2008)
Complete Season 9 (Regular)(January 29, 2007)
Complete Season 9 (Lisa Head)(January 29, 2007)
The Complete Ninth Season (Collectible Lisa Head)(December 19, 2006)
The Complete 9th Season (Regular Packaging)(December 19, 2006)
Season 8(October 02, 2006)
The Complete 8th Season (Collectible Maggie Head)(August 15, 2006)
The Complete 8th Season(August 15, 2006)
Kiss & Tell - The Story of Their Love(February 07, 2006)
Kiss and Tell - The Story of Their Love(February 06, 2006)
Complete Season 7 (Regular)(January 30, 2006)
The Complete 7th Season (Marge head)(December 20, 2005)
Season 6(October 17, 2005)
Too Hot For TV / Dark Secrets / Bart Wars(September 19, 2005)
The Complete Sixth Season (Homer's Head)(August 16, 2005)
Around the World in 80 D'Ohs(May 23, 2005)
Bart Wars (Region 1)(May 17, 2005)
Raiders of the Lost Fridge(April 18, 2005)
Crime & Punishment(April 18, 2005)
Viva Los Simpsons(April 18, 2005)
Springfield Murder Mysteries(April 18, 2005)
Last Temptation of Homer(April 18, 2005)
Season 5(March 21, 2005)
The Complete Fifth Season(December 21, 2004)
Christmas 2 (Region 1)(November 02, 2004)
Christmas 2(October 25, 2004)
Gone Wild (Region 1)(September 14, 2004)
The 16, 2004)
Heaven & Hell(August 16, 2004)
On Your Mars, Get Set, D'Oh(August 16, 2004)
Sex, Lies & The Simpsons(August 16, 2004)
Against The World(August 16, 2004)
Season 4(August 02, 2004)
The Complete Fourth Season(June 15, 2004)
Gone Wild(June 07, 2004)
Christmas with the Simpsons(November 03, 2003)
Season 3(October 06, 2003)
Bart Wars(September 08, 2003)
Greatest Hits(September 08, 2003)
Too Hot for TV(September 08, 2003)
The Simpsons Go To Hollywood(September 08, 2003)
Dark Secrets of The Simpsons(September 08, 2003)
Treehouse Of Horror(September 02, 2003)
The Complete Third Season(August 26, 2003)
Season 1(May 14, 2003)
Risky Business(April 07, 2003)
Treehouse of Horror(October 28, 2002)
The Complete Second Season(August 06, 2002)
Season 2(July 08, 2002)
Backstage Pass(May 20, 2002)
Film Festival(April 01, 2002)
The Complete Season 1(September 25, 2001)
Season 1(September 24, 2001)
Network: FOX ( USA)
Type: Animation
Genres: Adult Cartoons, Comedy
Status: Returning Series
Airs: Sundays at 08:00 pm
Runtime: 30 Minutes
Premiere: December 17, 1989
Episodes Order: 22
This guide is currently edited by:
KYLEd (Challenge)