A Different World

Show Tidbits
A Different World won the 1990 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Comedy Series. Jasmine Guy won five consecutive awards for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy (1990-94), and Kadeem Hardison won consecutive awards for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy in 1991 and 1992.
A Different World was originally a spin-off of The Cosby Show, with Denise Huxtable (Lisa Bonet) as the lead character. Charmaine Brown (Karen Malina White), who was added during the final season, was originally a recurring character on The Cosby Show. Main characters making guest appearances were Dr. Cliff Huxtable (Bill Cosby), Clair Huxtable (Phylicia Rashad), Theo Huxtable (Malcolm-Jamal Warner), Vanessa Huxtable (Tempestt Bledsoe), Rudy Huxtable (Keshia Knight Pulliam), Lt. Martin Kendall (Joseph C. Phillips) and Olivia Kendall (Raven-Symone). Russell Huxtable (Earle Hyman), Kara (Elizabeth Narvaez), Lance Rodman (Allen Payne) and Professor Barnabus Foster (Roscoe Lee Browne) were recurring characters on The Cosby Show who made guest appearances on A Different World. The characters of Dr. Harris (Ted Ross) and Dean Hughes (Rosalind Cash) also originated on The Cosby Show.
At the 1988 People's Choice Awards, A Different World won an award for Favorite New TV Comedy Program, tying with My Two Dads.
At the 1988 Young Artist Awards, A Different World was nominated for Most Promising New Fall Television Series. Also receiving nominations were Lisa Bonet for Best Young Actress Starring in a New Television Comedy; and Kadeem Hardison for Best Young Actor Starring in a New Television Comedy.
A Different World was featured on an episode of the TV One documentary series Unsung Hollywood in 2015.

Classification: Scripted
Genre: Comedy
Status: Canceled
Network: NBC ( USA)
Airs: Thursdays
Runtime: 30 Minutes
Premiere: September 24, 1987
Ended: July 09, 1993
This guide is currently edited by:
KWalkerInc (Challenge)