Login or register
TV
TVRage.Com Forums => Help & Support => Rage - slow for anyone else?
cindy
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (16%)
Posts: 19972
Points: 5428.7
Since: 12/Jan/06
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 7:12 am
I'm having problems with the site not loading - and have been for months. Sometimes it loads super-fast, and at others it's so slow (like 5 - 10 minutes to load a page) that I can't contribute or hold a conversation in the forums. It's worse some days than others - it comes & goes. I don't have this problem with any other websites I visit, just TVRage. It's incredibly frustrating.

I have a cable internet connection (Adelphia) and Rage loads slowly whether I use IE or Firefox. I'm using adblock, so the ads shouldn't be slowing it down.

Is anybody else having this problem? Is it an Idaho thing?
Can anyone tell me if there's anything I can do to fix it, or do I just have to suffer?
Me
(Beloved TVRage Original)

Level 94 (80%)
Posts: 21662
Points: 132353.6
Since: 01/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 8:30 am
Mine has been slow, but just the last few days. Time Warner took over our Adelphia cable and are working on installing new lines. They listed my area as being worked on this week so that explains my problem. But it has been fine up till then. Try smacking your computer it may not help but it rids you of frustrations.
Aramis
(The Covenant)

Level 50 (82%)
Posts: 4502
Points: 22258.1
Mood: froggy
Since: 17/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 9:54 am
I've been experiencing it over the last few months as well - I just figured it was my cable service.
cindy
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (16%)
Posts: 19972
Points: 5428.7
Since: 12/Jan/06
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 10:47 am
On Monday, November 20th 2006 8:30 am, Me wrote:
Mine has been slow, but just the last few days. Time Warner took over our Adelphia cable and are working on installing new lines. They listed my area as being worked on this week so that explains my problem.

But that would make ALL your sites slow, right? Only TVRage is slow for me, nothing else. It's really weird.


On Monday, November 20th 2006 9:54 am, xGowronx wrote:
I've been experiencing it over the last few months as well - I just figured it was my cable service.

Hmmm... are you in a rural area, like I am?
MacDeacon
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (98%)
Posts: 5434
Points: 34079.5
Mood: still waiting... even more disgruntled
Since: 05/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 11:47 am
I'm getting it too. I've got a cable modem at home and a T1 line at work. I get lags in loading pages but nothing over 10 seconds... but that seems like an eternity.

I personally think it's a problem related to the ads on the site.
cindy
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (16%)
Posts: 19972
Points: 5428.7
Since: 12/Jan/06
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 1:00 pm
On Monday, November 20th 2006 11:47 am, MacDeacon wrote:
I'm getting it too. I've got a cable modem at home and a T1 line at work. I get lags in loading pages but nothing over 10 seconds... but that seems like an eternity.

I personally think it's a problem related to the ads on the site.

Huh. I have the same thing, and I don't notice it as much at work.
At home it can take several minutes, which makes me nuts.

So even if I have adblock, the ads might still be affecting the load time?
Ben21
(Site Admin)

Level 178 (49%)
Posts: 13385
Points: 706814.2
Since: 06/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 1:57 pm
It is working fine for me.
FuManchu

Level 16 (73%)
Posts: 1083
Points: 2397.7
Since: 02/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 2:24 pm
I can't remember the site ever being slow. I'm on HS RoadRunner. Strange.
MacDeacon
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (98%)
Posts: 5434
Points: 34079.5
Mood: still waiting... even more disgruntled
Since: 05/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 2:44 pm
For me, "slow" is not the right word. It pauses in between the screens. You know, where the whole screen turns that dark brown background color. It's not like the screen is actually loading and it takes a long time to finish processing the graphics or anything like that. And it only happens every few minutes, not every time or anything.
cindy
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (16%)
Posts: 19972
Points: 5428.7
Since: 12/Jan/06
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 2:54 pm
So clearly no one is having the trouble I am.
TVoholic

Level 37 (66%)
Posts: 4285
Points: 5274.6
Mood: morose
Since: 20/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 2:56 pm
If it's any consolation, my computer's working just fine.
WiseCrack
(Global Moderator)

Level 44 (6%)
Posts: 8140
Points: 1839.8
Mood: introverted
Since: 25/Nov/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 6:14 pm
It's working fine for me. I think I'm on a DSL line.
andrew
(Forum Moderator)

Level 52 (41%)
Posts: 18190
Points: 6808.5
Mood: spinning
Since: 09/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 7:47 pm
My ISP sucks, and if someone 3 blocks away doesn't pay their bills, the whole block gets their internet taken away. A few days ago, it was being funny again. It's on my end though.
FuManchu

Level 16 (73%)
Posts: 1083
Points: 2397.7
Since: 02/Dec/05
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 8:49 pm
It is possible I just don’t see the problem, as I also don’t see the “pop-ups” and ads other people talk about here. I use Norton Internet Security, and maybe that is the key. I really don’t know; just saying here.
cindy
(Crazed Contributor)

Level 58 (16%)
Posts: 19972
Points: 5428.7
Since: 12/Jan/06
Message Posted On Monday, November 20th 2006 at 10:28 pm
On Monday, November 20th 2006 8:49 pm, FuManchu wrote:
It is possible I just don’t see the problem, as I also don’t see the “pop-ups” and ads other people talk about here. I use Norton Internet Security, and maybe that is the key. I really don’t know; just saying here.

I don't see any ads or pop-ups, either. And still my Rage is slow, on and off. *sigh*
1 | 2

HBO Renews 'Veep' and 'Silicon Valley'

    About two weeks ago, premium cable giant HBO picked up its mammoth hit..

Martin Freeman Reveals 'Sherlock' Season 4 Production Delay

We have bad news for fans who are anticipating the arrival of..

Bravo Developing Mystery Dramedy With Jennifer Garner

    Jennifer Garner is headed to TV, again. But this time, she's going behind..