Login or register  
TV

CBS adjusts schedule to placate viewers during NFL season

NFL

The Good Wife is going to be angry.

CBS announced today that its Sunday night shows are going to get disrupted a little bit during the NFL season on weekends it hosts National Football League doubleheaders. To combat that, the network will push back the start time of those series so fans don't miss out.

Here's what CBS's Sunday programming will look like in Eastern and Central timezones on doubleheader days:

7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT: "60 Minutes"
8:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. CT: "Big Brother 14" (through Sept. 23) and "The Amazing Race" (starting Sept. 30)
9:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. CT: "The Good Wife"
10:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. CT: "The Mentalist"

NFL doubleheader Sundays dates are: Sept. 16 and 23; Oct. 7 and 21; Nov. 4 and 18; and Dec. 2, 16 and 30.

Start times in Mountain and Pacific timezones will remain unchanged.

These changes should erase DVR woes. Previously CBS would start shows at odd times, for example "The Mentalist" would begin at 8:24 p.m. However, it was listed as starting at 8 p.m. in the scheduling grid, so to record the whole episode viewers would have to set their DVRs to record the following program.

Good news or does it not change anything for you?


Details
Network:
- CBS

Written by: Hamatosan
Sep 11th, 2012, 9:52 am

ab

Level 2 (32%)
Points: 4.4
Since: 20/Apr/08
Message Posted On Sep 13th, 2012, 8:06 am

Better.  For years I've had a one-tuner/one-channel policy so I can just record the entire primetime lineup to at least see things that run over.  Still terribly inconvenient and the metadata can get pretty hosed.  (And, yes, I have a lot of DVRs and a very large server.)  This should help and maybe give other netowrks (*coufg* FOX *cough*) something to think about.

Waderx

Level 1 (10%)
Since: 14/Aug/12
Message Posted On Sep 12th, 2012, 3:50 am

I am generally terrible in estimating the ends of games.  So this is good news.  7:30PM maybe to early to air 60 minutes, however.  A further 30 minute adjustment may be in order. 

rtruell

Level 1 (36%)
Since: 17/Apr/12
Message Posted On Sep 12th, 2012, 2:23 am

It's not going to change anything for me.  Unlike TV scheduling executives (and, apparently, a vast number of viewers), I have the intelligence to realize that a game that, for some strange reason, takes more than 3 hours to play, can't be aired in only 3 hours (well, not live, anyway), and so have been adjusting the end time on my PVR for shows following a game (any kind of game) for years, no matter what channel the game was on.

 

Related news

What's The Big Bang Theory's Jim Parsons Hiding About The Muppets?

The Big Bang Theory’s Jim Parsons has a secret he’d like to get off..

Do You Know Who the Grammy Nominees Are?

The time has come to support your favorite singers. The 2012 Grammy Award..

How I Met Your Mother Pregnancy Revealed Tonight

    Last week’s episode of How I Met Your Mother had fans saying..