Producer's Guild of America Award winners

Producer's Guild of America


Last night at the Beverly Hilton hotel, the Producer's Guild of America announced the winners of their annual awards at a lavish ceremony. Originally established as the Golden Laurel Awards, the PGA Awards were established in 1989 to honor the visionaries who produce and execute motion picture and television product. Namely: it's an award from producers for other producers.

Before getting to what we all love--the television awards--let's recap the big motion picture winners: 'Argo' won the top feature film honor, illiciting an eruption of cheers from the crowd on hand at the Hilton. That honor is the Darryl F. Zanuck Award, which 'Argo' director and star Ben Affleck graciously received. Since the first PGA awards, the Darryl F. Zanuck award has predicted the Best Picture winner at the Academy Awards 73% of the time (largely due to the fact that the same producers of the PGA also vote in the Academy Awards). Could this be a sign that 'Argo' is primed to upset 'Lincoln' at the granddaddy of them all?

Now, onward to the television winners!

Homeland poster


Continuing the trend from the Golden Globes, 'Homeland' took home the top television honor for drama, Best Drama Series. The award is just the latest hardware for the Showtime series, which recently won the AFI Award for Television Program of the Year, as well as the Golden Reel for Best Sound Editing. Despite having two separate directors nominated at the Director's Guild Awards this year, neither 'Homeland' director took home the prize--a rare loss in what has been a tidal wave of accolades for the series.

The Best Comedy Series PGA went to 'Modern Family,' another series that has wracked up Golden Globes and AFI Awards. This also marked the third straight year that 'Modern Family' has taken home this honor. 'Modern Family' did not take home the Golden Globe for Best Television Series--Musical or Comedy this year, as that honor went to HBO's new hit 'Girls.'

It is reported that the longest acceptance speech of the night belonged to Harvey and Bob Weinstein, in part because they received the Milestone Award from Robert De Niro, Quentin Tarantino, and Robert Rodriguez. J.J. Abrams, who has been in the news a lot of late due to his being named the next director of a 'Star Wars' feature, took home the Norman Lear Achievement Award.

Wrapping up the television news, 'Game Change' won for Best Longform Television, including producer Tom Hanks. Outstanding Live Television or Talk Format went to 'The Colbert Report.'



- Homeland
- Modern Family

Written by: bad_subject
Jan 27th, 2013, 10:17 am

Related news

The Classics are coming! The Classics are coming!

To TV that is! Television has always given us great times. Now we get to..

'Game of Thrones' Cleans Up at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards

There are Emmys for daytime or primetime at night, There are Emmys for..

Frank Peppiatt, co-creator of 'Hee Haw,' passes away

  One of television's legends, Frank Peppiatt, has died. He was 85...