Oh, Doctor Beeching!

Oh, Doctor Beeching!

In 1963, Doctor Beeching was commissioned by the British Government to study how the government could save money on the railway lines that had deteriorated or been abandoned over the years. Over the years some of these lines were allowed to deteriorate or be abandoned, but for some rural communities, the local rail service was their only way to travel to other parts of Britian. Doctor Beeching called for the closure of 2128 stations and removal of the rails isolating small towns across the nation and causing panic in others that they would soon lose their service.

Based on these real events, Oh, Doctor Beeching! was a sitcom about the inhabitants of a small town, the town's run-down railway station and the local railway they all depend upon.

Episode Info

Final: 2x10 -- Ton Up (Sep/28/1997)

As he puts some old paperwork into storage, Wilfred discovers an old 1863 newspaper. It ends up revealing that Hatley station is just a few days away from its centenary and the staff are determined to celebrate the landmark occasion.
Paul ShanePaul Shane
As Jack Skinner
Su PollardSu Pollard
As Ethel Schumann
Jeffrey Holland (1)Jeffrey Holland (1)
As Cecil Parkin
Julia DeakinJulia Deakin
As May Skinner
Barbara NewBarbara New
As Vera Plumtree
Stephen Lewis (1)Stephen Lewis (1)
As Harry Lambert
Ivor RobertsIvor Roberts
As Arnold Thomas
Perry BensonPerry Benson
As Ralph
Terry JohnTerry John
As Percy
Lindsay GrimshawLindsay Grimshaw
As Gloria Skinner

view full cast list, character guides

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet

Executive Producer: David Croft
Producer: David Croft, Charles Garland
Costume Designer: Mary Husband
Production Assistant: Susan Lawton, Poonam Megone, Caroline Thomas (2)
Art Director: Antony Cartlidge, Christophe Gerard
Production Manager: Jeremy Connor, Jenny Penrose

View full crew list
Recurring Guests

Richard Spendlove as Mr Orkindale (7 eps)
Felix Bowness as Bernie Bleasdale (4 eps)
Daphne Goddard as Lady Passenger (3 eps)
John D. Collins as Man (2 eps)
Angela Easterling as Lady Lawrence (2 eps)
Thomas Connor as Boy (2 eps)
Jonathan Cross as Passenger (2 eps)

View All Recurring Guests