Margaret John

Mostly Credited As: Margaret John
Date Of Birth: December 14, 1926 (Age 84)
Country Of Birth: United Kingdom
Birth Place: Swansea, Wales
Date Of Death: February 02, 2011

Margaret John

Regarded as one of Wales' favourite comedy actresses, the instantly recognisable Margaret John's varied and long career has also included serious roles in some classic UK shows, ranging from Coronation Street to Doctor Who (1963 and 2005 versions).
She has also appeared in the films Run Fatboy Run, A Bit Of Tom Jones? (2009) and the horror film Flick (2008).

TV Appearances

Main cast 
Gavin And Stacey (2007)As: Doris
Tea and Biscuits with Maggie Pritchard (2004)As: Maggie Pritchard
Eyes Down (2003)As: Kay
High Hopes (1999)As: Mam
The District Nurse (1984)As: Gwen Harris
Breakaway (1980)As: Elaine Wigmore (S02)
Crossroads (1964) (1964)As: Marian Owen (1978)
Episode Cast Credits 

High Hopes (1999) 
  Backstage (Mar/23/2015) As Mam (On Video) 
  High Hopes: Best Bits Episode 3 (Oct/04/2009) As Herself 
  High Hopes: Best Bits Episode 2 (Sep/27/2009) As Herself 
  High Hopes: Best Bits Episode 1 (Sep/20/2009) As Herself 

Game of Thrones (2010) 
  Baelor 01x09: (Jun/12/2011) As Old Nan (Elderly Servant at Winterfell, Tells Bran Stories) 
  Cripples, Bastards, and Broken Things 01x04: (May/08/2011) As Old Nan (Elderly Servant at Winterfell, Tells Bran Stories) 
  Lord Snow 01x03: (May/01/2011) As Old Nan (Elderly Servant at Winterfell, Tells Bran Stories) 

Doctors (2000) 
  Miss Pringle Investigates 12x55: (Jul/13/2010) As Elsie Pringle 
  Daylight Robbery 10x160: (Dec/17/2008) As Ida Wright 
  You Make Me Feel So Young 03x97: (Oct/31/2002) As Betty Carter 

Casualty (1986) 
  Clean Slate 24x32: (Apr/17/2010) As Evelyn Gray 
  Farmead Menace - Part Two 23x02: (Sep/14/2008) As Mrs. Treaver 
  Farmead Menace - Part One 23x01: (Sep/13/2008) As Mrs. Treaver 

Being Human (UK) (2008) 
  Cure and Contagion 02x01: (Jan/10/2010) As Old Lady 

Crash (UK) (2009) 
  Series 1, Episode 2 01x02: (Sep/16/2009) As Anne 

Gavin And Stacey (2007) 
  Series 2, Episode 5 02x05: (Apr/06/2008) As Doris 
  Series 2, Episode 3 02x03: (Mar/23/2008) As Doris 

Doctor Who (2005) 
  The Idiot's Lantern 02x07: (May/27/2006) As Grandma Connolly 

Tardisodes (2006) 
  Tardisode 7: The Idiot's Lantern 01x07: (May/13/2006) As Grandma Connelly 

The Mighty Boosh (2004) 
  Nanageddon 02x03: (Aug/09/2005) As Nanatoo 

My Family (2000) 
  Blind Justice 04x07: (May/02/2003) As Woman Juror 1 

Fun At The Funeral Parlour (2001) 
  Gwynne's Marvelous Medicine 02x04: (Feb/12/2002) As Vye Trite 
  The Mountains of Doom 01x04: (Jan/22/2001) As Linda 
  The Heron Incident 01x03: (Jan/15/2001) As Mad Betty 

A Mind To Kill (1994) 
  Head Of The Valleys 02x05: (Nov/08/1997) As Ellen Williams 

Lovejoy (1986) 
  Stones of Destiny 05x07: (Oct/17/1993) As Mrs. Thorn 

Dear John (UK) (1986) 
  A New Member 02x01: (Sep/07/1987) As Mother Superior 

Angels (1975) 
  Series 6, Episode 9 06x09: (Sep/29/1980) As Mrs. Frost 
  Casualties 04x09: (Jun/05/1978) As Abigail Adams 

Secret Army (1977) 
  Collaborator 03x10: (Nov/24/1979) As Candide Customer 

Emmerdale (1972) 
  Thursday 10th May 1979 08x37: (May/10/1979) As Maggie 
  Tuesday 8th May 1979 08x36: (May/08/1979) As Maggie 
  Thursday 3rd May 1979 08x35: (May/03/1979) As Maggie 
  Tuesday 1st May 1979 08x34: (May/01/1979) As Maggie 

A Horseman Riding By (1978) 
  1919: The Old and the New 01x13: (Dec/17/1978) As Marian Eveleigh 
  1917: The Bad Season 01x11: (Dec/03/1978) As Marian Eveleigh 

Shadows (1975) 
  The Boy Merlin 03x04: (Oct/11/1978) As Blowden 

Blake's 7 (1978) 
  The Way Back 01x01: (Jan/02/1978) As Arbiter 

Last of the Summer Wine (1973) 
  Who Made A Bit Of A Splash In Wales Then? 04x05: (Dec/07/1977) As Foggy's widowed Ladyfriend 

Mike Yarwood In Persons (1976) 
  Series 1, Show 6 01x08: (Mar/19/1977) As Various 
  Series 1, Show 3 01x05: (Feb/05/1977) As Queen Elizabeth 1st 

Ghosts of Motley Hall (1976) 
  Old Gory 01x02: (May/02/1976) As Mrs. Potter 

The Protectors (1972) 
  Trial 02x21: (Feb/08/1974) As Nurse 

7 Of One (1973) 
  I'll Fly You for a Quid 01x07: (May/06/1973) As Mrs. Owen 

The Rivals of Sherlock Holmes (1971) 
  The Superfluous Finger 02x07: (Mar/11/1973) As Receptionist 

Dead of Night (1972) 
  A Woman Sobbing 01x07: (Dec/17/1972) As Fay / Woman’s Voice 

Dixon of Dock Green (1955) 
  Bust Up 19x10: (Nov/25/1972) As Jenny 
  Waste Land 17x01: (Nov/14/1970) As Mrs. Norman 

Doomwatch (1970) 
  Waiting for a Knighthood 03x04: (Jun/26/1972) As Mrs. Simpson 
  Friday's Child 01x02: (Feb/16/1970) As Defending Solicitor 

Brett (1971) 
  For Political And Public Services 01x05: (May/17/1971) As Mrs. Jones 

Softly, Softly (1966) 
  Bearings 06x14: (Dec/16/1970) As Mrs. Wells 
  Equal Status 04x13: (Dec/05/1968) As Mrs Owen 
  The Short Cut 01x19: (May/11/1966) As Mrs Morris 

Menace (1970) 
  The Straight And Narrow 01x01: (Sep/29/1970) As Sylvie 

The First Lady (1968) 
  The Whips Are Out 02x17: (Jul/17/1969) As Margaret Kingston 
  Radio Sarah 02x11: (Jun/05/1969) As Margaret Kingston 
  The Man from Down Under 02x09: (May/15/1969) As Margaret Kingston 
  I Don't Like Him 02x07: (May/01/1969) As Margaret Kingston 

Doctor Who (1963) (1963) 
  Fury from the Deep, Episode Six 05x34: (Apr/20/1968) As Megan Jones 
  Fury from the Deep, Episode Five 05x33: (Apr/13/1968) As Megan Jones 
  Fury from the Deep, Episode Four 05x32: (Apr/06/1968) As Megan Jones 

Z Cars (1962) 
  When Did You Last See Your Father? Part 4 06x24: (May/23/1967) As Betty Nutall 
  When Did You Last See Your Father? Part 3 06x23: (May/22/1967) As Betty Nutall 
  When Did You Last See Your Father? Part 2 06x22: (May/16/1967) As Betty Nutall 
  When Did You Last See Your Father? Part 1 06x21: (May/15/1967) As Betty Nutall 

The Troubleshooters (UK) (1965) 
  A Run For Their Money 02x21: (Sep/17/1966) As Grace Trevor 

No Hiding Place (1959) 
  A Moment of Freedom 08x05: (Dec/01/1965) As Joan Prescott 

Suspense (UK) (1962) 
  The Rescuers 02x39: (Sep/23/1963) As Mrs. Powell 
  The Edge of Reason 02x33: (Aug/12/1963) As Assistant Matron 

Armchair Theatre (1956) 
  After the Funeral 01x168: (Apr/03/1960) As Ailwen Roberts 
Latest news

There are no news items yet

In 2009 she was awarded the BAFTA Cymru Special Award for outstanding contribution to film, television and new media.

On Mar 1 2010, she was the subject of a BBC Wales tribute programme titled 'Margaret John - National Treasure'.

She was married at the late age of 48, but her husband, Ben, a first violinist with the London Symphony Orchestra, sadly died three years later.

Margaret John Quotes

No quotes added for this person