Edgar Rice Burroughs

Mostly Credited As: Edgar Rice Burroughs
Birth Name: Edgar Rice Burroughs
Date Of Birth: September 01, 1875 (Age 74)
Country Of Birth: USA
Birth Place: Chicago, Illinois
Date Of Death: March 19, 1950
Cause Of Death: Heart Attack

Edgar Rice Burroughs


The John Carter of Mars Series:
1917 A Princess of Mars
1918 The Gods of Mars
1919 The Warlord of Mars
1920 Thuvia, Maid of Mars
1922 The Chessmen of Mars
1928 The Mastermind of Mars
1931 A Fighting Man of Mars
1936 Swords of Mars
1940 Synthetic Men of Mars
1948 Llana of Gathol
1964 John Carter of Mars

The Carson Napier of Venus Series:
1934 Pirates of Venus
1935 Lost on Venus
1939 Carson of Venus
1946 Escape on Venus
1970 The Wizard of Venus and Pirate Blood [The latter not being part of the Venus Series]

The Pellucidar Series:
1922 At the Earth's Core
1923 Pellucidar
1929 Tanar of Pellucidar
1930 Tarzan at the Earth's Core [see Tarzan series]
1937 Back to the Stone Age
1944 Land of Terror
1963 Savage Pellucidar

The Tarzan Series:
1914 Tarzan of the Apes
1915 The Return of Tarzan
1916 The Beasts of Tarzan
1917 The Son of Tarzan
1918 Tarzan and the Jewels of Opar
1919 Jungle Tales of Tarzan, [aka "Tarzan's Jungle Tales"]
1920 Tarzan the Untamed
1921 Tarzan the Terrible
1923 Tarzan and the Golden Lion
1924 Tarzan and the Ant Men
1927 The Tarzan Twins
1928 Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle
1929 Tarzan and the Lost Empire
1930 Tarzan at the Earth's Core [see Pellucidar series]
1931 Tarzan the Invincible
1932 Tarzan Triumphant
1933 Tarzan and the City of Gold
1934 Tarzan and the Lion Man
1935 Tarzan and the Leopard Men
1936 Tarzan and the Tarzan Twins with Jad-Bal-Ja, the Golden Lion
1936 Tarzan's Quest
1938 Tarzan and the Forbidden City
1939 Tarzan the Magnificent
1947 Tarzan and the Foreign Legion
1964 Tarzan and the Madman
1965 Tarzan and the Castaways

Other Novels
1921 The Mucker
1923 The Girl from Hollywood
1924 The Land that Time Forgot
1925 The Eternal Lover
1925 The Bandit of Hell’s Bend
1925 The Cave Girl
1926 The Moon Maid
1926 The Mad King
1927 The Outlaw of Torn
1927 The War Chief
1929 The Monster Men
1932 Jungle Girl
1933 Apache Devil
1937 The Oakdale Affair
1938 The Lad and the Lion
1940 The Deputy Sheriff of Comanche County
1957 Beyond Thirty and The Man Eater
1959 The Girl from Farris’s
1964 Tales of Three Planets [includes "Beyond the Farthest Star"]
1965 The Efficiency Expert
1967 I Am a Barbarian

TV Appearances

No TV appearances
Crew Credits

Show Crew

Tarzan (1966) (1966)• Based On Characters Created By
Tarzan (1991) (1991)• Based On Characters Created By
The Legend of Tarzan (2001)• Based On The Works Of

Episode Crew

Latest news

There are no news items yet

His first Mars book was written under the pseudonym Norman Bean

Served as a war correspondent during World War II.

Edgar Rice Burroughs Quotes

No quotes added for this person