Porridge is one of the all-time greats, with memorable, believable characters, richly comic dialogue and cunning plots. Its main character, Fletcher is played by the comedy guvnor himself Ronnie Barker. Each episode begins with the noise of prison doors slamming shut and the ringing tones of a judge sentencing Fletcher to prison for five years. This sets the tone: habitual criminal Fletcher is returning to jail for yet another stretch, although this time he is determined that it will be his last. Hoping his senior status will snag him a single cell, Fletcher is forced to share with a first-time offender, Lennie Godber, a naive, scared Birmingham lad.

Unintentionally, Fletcher becomes a father-figure to the young man, steering him through the choppy waters of prison life. Although the pair aim for a quiet time, they invariably clash with authority in the shape of the kindly, well-meaning and easily swayed guard Mr Barrowclough, and the harsh and suspicious, everything-by-the-book Scots warden Mr MacKay. However, by using all his guile and prison experience, Fletcher usually manages to extricate them, hoping - and usually succeeding - to score 'a little victory' along the way. In essence, Fletcher's advice to Godber, born of his long prison experience, is the two-fold “bide your time” and “don't let the bastards grind you down”. Porridge is rich, satisfying, and packed with goodness – with no sell-by date.

Episode Info

Final: 3x08 -- Final Stretch (Mar/25/1977)

Godber ends up getting involved in a brawl just before he is due to face the Parole Board which could damage his chances of being released from prison early.
Ronnie BarkerRonnie Barker
As Norman Stanley Fletcher
Richard BeckinsaleRichard Beckinsale
As Lennie Godber
Fulton MackayFulton Mackay
As Mr MacKay
Brian WildeBrian Wilde
As Mr Barrowclough
Peter Vaughan (1)Peter Vaughan (1)
As Harry Grout

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet

Producer: Sydney Lotterby
Music: Max Harris (1)
Film Editor: Ray Millichope
Film Cameraman: Len Newson
Costume: Mary Husband

View full crew list
Recurring Guests

Sam Kelly as Warren (12 eps)
Tony Osoba as McLaren (9 eps)
Michael Barrington as Governor (8 eps)
Christopher Biggins as Lukewarm (6 eps)
Ken Jones as Ives (4 eps)
Paul McDowell as Mr. Collinson (4 eps)
David Jason as Blanco (3 eps)
Ronald Lacey as Harris (3 eps)
Patricia Brake as Ingrid Fletcher (3 eps)
Brian Glover as Heslop (3 eps)

View All Recurring Guests
Classification: Scripted
Genre: Comedy
Status: Canceled/Ended
Network: BBC one ( United Kingdom)
Airs: Fridays at 08:30 pm
Runtime: 30 Minutes
Premiere: September 05, 1974
Ended: March 25, 1977
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor