Login or register  

F/X: The Series

F/X: The Series

FX: The Series is loosely based on the two F/X feature films, which starred Bryan Brown and Brian Dennehy. It is the story of special effects wizard, Rollie Tyler, played by Australian actor Cameron Daddo, and his friend and coworker, Angie Ramirez (Christina Cox). Together, they use their genius in special effects to create movie magic and to help the police solve difficult crimes. During the first season, veteran actor Kevin Dobson played the role of Leo McCarthy, a detective in the NYPD and Rollie's long-time friend. Together, they would use special effects and canny police work to bring down criminals who might otherwise have escaped justice. Other important recurring characters were McCarthy's partner Francis Gatti (Jason Blicker), actress Lucinda Scott (Carrie-Anne Moss) and Captain Marvin VanDuran (Richard Waugh).

At the opening of the second season, Leo was tragically killed in a bomb explosion. The new character of Mira Sanchez (Jacqueline Torres), a detective in the Internal Affairs division of the NYPD, was introduced. Mira transferred out of Internal Affairs, but continued as a detective in the department. In time, she became a friend to Rollie and Angie, who continued to help the police on cases.
  • Currently 7.3/10
7.3/10 (4 Votes cast)

Episode Info

Final: 2x18 -- Red Storm (May/25/1998)

Kevin Dobson
As Detective Leo McCarthy (S01)
Cameron Daddo
As Rollie Tyler
Christina Cox
As Angie Ramirez
Sherry Miller
As Colleen O'Malley (S01)
Richard Waugh
As Captain Marvin Vanduran
Jason Blicker
As Detective Francis "Frank" Gatti
Carrie-Anne Moss
As Lucinda Scott (S01)
Jacqueline Torres
As Detective Mira Sanchez (S02)

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest news

There are no news items yet

Executive Producer: Jay Firestone, Stephen Downing
Co-Executive Producer: J. Miles Dale
Production Designer: Harley Morden
Editor: Eric Goddard
Casting: Jon Comerford
Music: Christophe Beck
Costume Designer: Luis Sequeira
Director of Photography: Derick V. Underschultz
Production Controller: Janina Barrett

View full crew list
Recurring Guests

Richard Comar as Pete Stone (3 eps)
Ellen Ray Hennessy as Sara (2 eps)

View All Recurring Guests

E4 Commission, 'The Tattoo Shop'

  E4 have commissioned one-off show, ‘The Tattoo Shop’. Featuring three of the most..

BBC One Announces New Drama, 'The Missing'

BBC One announces new drama, ‘The Missing’. 'The Missing' is a drama told..

Neil Pearson and Nicola Stephenson Join Series 10 Of 'Waterloo Road'

The BBC One’s award-winning school drama, ‘Waterloo..