The Court

The Court

Kate Nolan (played by Sally Field), is the newest Justice to the U.S. Supreme Court. She is a hardnosed judge who has to carefully steer through all the conservative and liberal groups of her new colleagues. In addition she must learn to deal and learn to trust the new gifted young clerks that have been assigned to her.

While Justice Nolan struggles within the halls of the Supreme Court, an aggressive television reporter, Harlan Brandt (played by Craig Bierko), and his eager, young production assistant, Betsy Tyler (played by Christina Hendricks), work from outside, dedicated to putting a face on the work of the court. But Brandt's fast-paced, deadline-driven world is often at odds with the sanctity of the very institution he covers.

The Court also stars Pat Hingle as Chief Justice Townsend, Miguel Sandoval as Justice Martinez and Chris Sarandon as Justice Voorhees. Diahann Carroll makes a special guest appearance as Justice Desett. Appearing as the Justices' clerks are Nicole DeHuff as Alexis, Hill Harper as Christopher and Josh Radnor as Dylan.

The Court is created and executive-produced by Carol Flint (ER and The Unit). Charles Haid (starred in Hill Street Blues and directed for
ER) is co-executive producer. The series is produced by John Wells
Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television.

Episode Info

Final: 1x06 -- Back in the Bottle

The story that Harlan was trying to dig up on Justice Nolan is being promoted by his station without his knowledge when he had actually thought the story was dead. After his attempts at pulling the story fail, he is forced to do something that could ruin his career forever. Harlan weighs deeply into his options hoping to find one that will not cause any professional turmoil toward Justice Nolan and allow him to maintain his career.
Sally FieldSally Field
As Justice Kate Nolan
Craig BierkoCraig Bierko
As Harlan Brandt
Christina HendricksChristina Hendricks
As Betsy Tyler
Pat HinglePat Hingle
As Chief Justice Townsend
Miguel SandovalMiguel Sandoval
As Justice Martinez
Chris SarandonChris Sarandon
As Justice Voorhees
Diahann CarrollDiahann Carroll
As Justice Desett
Nicole DeHuffNicole DeHuff
As Alexis Cameron
Hill HarperHill Harper
As Christopher Bell
Josh RadnorJosh Radnor
As Dylan Hirsch


No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet

Creator: Oliver Goldstick, Tom Schulman
Executive Producer: Carol Flint
Co-Executive Producer: Charles Haid
Supervising Producer: Bonnie Mark
Producer: Lewis Abel, Andrew Stearn
Associate Producer: Pam Fitzgerald, Steven Heth
First Assistant Director: Princess O'Mahoney

View full crew list
Recurring Guests

Tim Bagley as Gregg Willis (5 eps)
Robin Thomas as Andrew Loesch (5 eps)
Brenda Strong as Marsha Palmer (4 eps)
Edmund L. Shaff as Justice Riddle (4 eps)
Alfred Dennis as Justice Bernstein (4 eps)
Harper Roisman as Justice Shays (4 eps)
Harry Northup as Justice Fitzsimmons (4 eps)
Xander Berkeley as Keith Nolan (3 eps)
Elisabeth Harmon-Haid (1) as Amy, Chief Townsend's Secretary (3 eps)
Sean Moran as Van Sloyk's Buddy (2 eps)

View All Recurring Guests