The Heisman Trophy Presentation Ceremony

For the 77th time since its inception in 1935, the Heisman Trophy Trust of New York City, will award the annual Heisman Memorial Trophy to an individual who deserves designation as the most outstanding college football player in the United States. The Heisman is a national symbol of collegiate football experience and competitiveness. At the same time, it has become the single most celebrated and sought-after award in American collegiate athletics.

Named in memory of a man whose inventiveness and contribution to football strategy are almost without compare, the Heisman Trophy has become more than an award of sculptured statuary. Indeed, it is almost an end in itself for legions and players, who engage annually in college football and accept personal recognition and public acclaim as part of sports endeavor.

Known originally as the DAC Trophy when it was first presented to Jay Berwagner, the legendary “one man gang” of the University of Chicago on December 9, 1935, the bronze statue award depicts a football player side-stepping and straight arming a tackler. Cast in the highly artistic method known as the lost wax process of bronze medal molding, the statue weighs 45 pounds and is 14 inches long, 13 and a half inches in height and 6 and a half inches in width. It was designed by New York sculptor Frank Eliscu, who was commissioned by the Downtown Athletic Club to create a figure of a football player in imperishable bronze to serve as an annual trophy award. Eliscu used his friend Ed Smith, a starter on the New York University Football team, as the player model for his initial creations.
(Source: Heisman Club)

Episode Info

Prev: 1x38 -- 80th Annual Heisman Award Ceremony 2014 (LIVE) (Dec/13/2014)

Tonight the 80th Heisman Trophy will be presented to one of the best College Football players for 2014. The following list is the leading candidates for tonight's award:

Marcus Mariota, QB - Oregon Ducks
Melvin Gordon, RB - Wisconsin Badgers
Amari Cooper, WR - Alabama Crimson Tide
Trevone Boykin, QB - TCU Horned Frogs
J.T. Barrett, QB - Ohio State Buckeyes
Tevin Coleman, RD - Indiana Hoosiers
Scooby Wright III, LB - Arizona Wildcats
Dak Prescott, QB - Mississippi State Bulldogs

In 2013 the winner of this prestigious award was Jameis Winston, QB - Florida State Seminoles.


No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet