The Philco Television Playhouse

The Philco Television Playhouse

The Philco Television Playhouse was one of the most distinguished of the many "live" anthology dramas which aired during the so-called "golden age" of television. The first episode of the Philco program was broadcast over NBC on Sunday evening 3 October 1948 between 9:00 and 10:00 P.M. It remained on the air for just over seven seasons until 1955. At the beginning of its fourth season in 1951, The Philco Television Playhouse acquired an alternating sponsor, the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company. From 1951 until it went off the air, the program shared its Sunday night slot with The Goodyear Theatre.

For a short period between 28 August 1955 and 12 February 1956, the Philco Television Playhouse alternated with The Alcoa Hour in addition to The Goodyear Theatre. Following the end of The Philco Television Playhouse in 1955, The Alcoa Hour and The Goodyear Theatre continued in alternation with broadcasts of one hour live dramas until 29 September 1957.

Episode Info

Final: 8x12 -- Kyria Katina (Feb/12/1956)

Bert LytellBert Lytell
As Host (S01)

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet

Producer: Ira Skutch, Fred Coe, Gordon Duff
Associate Producer: Robert Alan Aurthur
Music: Morris Mamorsky
Assistant Producer: Bo Goldman

View full crew list
Recurring Guests

E.G. Marshall as Alf Rylett (13 eps)
Vinton Hayworth as Devereaux (10 eps)
David Opatoshu as guest star (8 eps)
Joseph Buloff as guest star (8 eps)
Walter Matthau as guest star (7 eps)
John Newland as guest star (7 eps)
Alfred Ryder as guest star (7 eps)
Olive Deering as guest star (7 eps)
Edgar Stehli as guest star (7 eps)
John Baragrey as Fitzwilliam Darcy (7 eps)

View All Recurring Guests