Season 1

1 :01x01 - Assume the Position 1789-1825

Following the 8-year war of independence that led to the United States been formed. The film follows the birth of the first, risky, democracy that was formed for the people. The democracy was set up with a court, a congress and the idea of power been shared out. In a world ran by emperors and Kings this was a precarious balancing act. The era of the founding fathers came to a end in 1824, then over the next 25 years, 6 different presidents saw the country move on from it's older traditions and expand with more land and ideas.

2 :01x02 - Power to the People 1824-1849

The impact of the American President's decisions leading up to the Civil War in the 1820's.

3 :01x03 - A House Divided 1849-1865

A look at the events that happened the white house between Zachary Taylor beginning his presidency and Abraham Lincoln been assassinated.

4 :01x04 - Executive Retreat 1865-1901

A look at the presidents work during the cold war and how they reacted when communism swept through Europe.

5 :01x05 - Call of Duty 1899-1921

The show takes a look at Congress' influence on U.S. policy following the Civil War.

6 :01x06 - Changing of the Guard 1920-1945

A look behind the scenes at the presidents actions after the end of World War 1, the early onset of World War 2 and what they did during the great depression.

7 :01x07 - Hail to the Chief 1945-1964

The show takes a look at the Cold War and the spread of communism throughout Europe.

8 :01x08 - Mantle of Power 1965-2013

The show takes a look at the growth in power of the presidency.
Network: HISTORY ( USA)
Type: Documentary
Genres: Drama, Educational, Family, History
Status: Canceled/Ended
Airs: Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays at 09:00 pm
Runtime: 120 Minutes
Premiere: January 15, 2013
Episodes Order: 8
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor