Login or register

The Young Riders

The Young Riders

The Young Riders is a show based on the USA Pony Express. The Pony Express operated for slightly longer than 1 year, from April 1960 to November 1961 and covered a route that traveled between the Missouri River (St. Joseph in Missouri) and the Pacific coast (San Francisco in California, crossing through Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Utah, and Nevada). The Pony Express was a failed rival to the stagecoach mail system. The series lasted three seasons on ABC (longer than the actual Pony Express) and many young actors starred on the show and played characters somewhat familar from western history. Such real life characters as James "Wild Bill" Hickok (known as Jimmy on the show and played by Josh Brolin), William "Buffalo Bill" Cody (played by Stephen Baldwin), and Jesse James (played by Christopher Pettiet) appeared on the show (mostly fictionalized).

One note on the character Noah Dixon (played by Don Franklin), the black express rider, the Pony Express did employ men, but none were express riders.

Episode Info

Final: 3x22 -- 'Til Death Do Us Part (2) (Jul/23/1992)

Stephen BaldwinStephen Baldwin
As William F. "Buffalo Bill" Cody
Josh BrolinJosh Brolin
As James Butler "Jimmy" Hickok
Brett CullenBrett Cullen
As Marshal Sam Cain (S01)
Travis FineTravis Fine
As Ike McSwain
Melissa LeoMelissa Leo
As Emma Shannon (S01)
Ty MillerTy Miller
As The Kid
Gregg RainwaterGregg Rainwater
As Buck Cross
Yvonne SuhorYvonne Suhor
As Louis McCloud
Anthony ZerbeAnthony Zerbe
As Teaspoon Hunter
Clare WrenClare Wren
As Rachel Dunne (S02-S03)

view full cast list, character guides

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet

Creator: Ed Spielman
Executive Producer: Jonas McCord

View full crew list

Classification: Scripted
Genre: Western
Status: Canceled/Ended
Network: ABC ( USA)
Runtime: 60 Minutes
Premiere: September 20, 1989
Ended: July 23, 1992
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor