Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea

Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea

Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea was the successful TV spin-off of the 1961 movie of the same name. Richard Basehart, as Admiral Nelson, and David Hedison, as Captain Crane commanded the glass-nosed, nuclear-powered Seaview for 110 episodes over four seasons on ABC. The first season, shot in black and white ran for 32 episodes and mixed espionage, the Cold War, and science fiction in a successful blend. The second year went to color and ran 26 episodes. With a big budget and color, plus a re-fitted Seaview and the addition of the classic Flying Sub, the second year was truly epic. A budget cut was sometimes apparent in the 26 episode third year, but good writing still turned out some classic adventures. An increased budget improved the 26 episode fourth year, where Voyage set a record for an American science fiction television program when it hit it's 100th episode. Richard Basehart and David Hedison turned in consistently fine performances, even when confronted with less than sophisticated material.

Episode Info

Final: 4x26 -- No Way Back (Mar/31/1968)

Available Episodes

The Return of the Ph..
Mar 20, 1966
Season 2 episode 26

The Mechanical Man
Mar 13, 1966
Season 2 episode 25

The Menfish
Mar 06, 1966
Season 2 episode 24

The Monster's Web
Feb 27, 1966
Season 2 episode 23

The Death Ship
Feb 20, 1966
Season 2 episode 22

Dead Men's Doubloons
Feb 13, 1966
Season 2 episode 21

The Shape of Doom
Feb 06, 1966
Season 2 episode 20

Richard BasehartRichard Basehart
As Adm. Harriman Nelson
David HedisonDavid Hedison
As Capt. Lee B. Crane
Henry KulkyHenry Kulky
As Chief Curley Jones (S01)
Robert DowdellRobert Dowdell
As LCDR Chip Morton
Del MonroeDel Monroe
As Kowalski
Terry BeckerTerry Becker
As Chief Francis Ethelbert Sharkey (S02-S04)

No reviews yet, write the first review
Latest News

There are no news items yet
Recurring Guests

Paul Trinka as Patterson (18 eps)
Allan Hunt as Riley (16 eps)
Arch Whiting as Sparks (10 eps)
Richard Bull as Seaview Doctor (8 eps)
Paul Carr as Clark (5 eps)
Mark Slade as Malone (4 eps)
Patrick Culliton as Seaview Guard (4 eps)
Wayne Heffley as Seaview Doctor (3 eps)
Ford Rainey as U. S. President (3 eps)
Booth Colman as Chairman (2 eps)

View All Recurring Guests