This drama follows Inspector Kurt Wallander – a middle-aged everyman – as he struggles against a rising tide of violence in the apparently sleepy backwaters in and around Ystad in Skane, southern Sweden. Based on the international best-selling books by Henning Mankell. (Source: BBC)

Episode Info

Prev: 4x03 -- The Troubled Man (Jun/05/2016)

Linda’s father-in-law Håkon Von Enke vanishes and Wallander becomes entrenched in his most challenging missing person’s case so far.

Available Episodes

Before the Frost
Jul 22, 2012
Season 3 episode 3

The Dogs of Riga
Jul 15, 2012
Season 3 episode 2

An Event in Autumn
Jul 08, 2012
Season 3 episode 1

One Step Behind
Dec 14, 2008
Season 1 episode 3

Dec 07, 2008
Season 1 episode 2

Nov 30, 2008
Season 1 episode 1

Kenneth BranaghKenneth Branagh
As Kurt Wallander
Jeany SparkJeany Spark
As Linda Wallander
David WarnerDavid Warner
As Povel Wallander
Sarah SmartSarah Smart
As Anne-Britt Hoglund
Sadie ShimminSadie Shimmin
As Lisa Holgersson
Tom BeardTom Beard
As Svedberg (S01)
Richard McCabeRichard McCabe
As Nyberg
Tom HiddlestonTom Hiddleston
As Martinsson


Reviews: 1
WallanderRating: 6 likes, 1 dislikes

The three epsisodes of Wallander on BBC Sunday nights were based on the crime novels of Henning Mankel I haven't read any of these novels so it was something different to watch and experience! A change from Frost, Morse etc! The stories are set in Sweden which is great to be able to get an insight into different crime areas! We usually associate Sweden with Abba,Ulrika Jonsson and that is the only "crime" some of us may have experienced! Read more

Review posted on Tuesday, December 16th 2008 at 11:24 pm


Reviews: 3
Nearly flawlessRating: 0 likes, 1 dislikes

I indeed read most of the novels of Mankel and I have to state that the BBC did a terrific/great job of adapting them. imho 90 min per episode are a little short but okay. Read more

Review posted on Monday, July 30th 2012 at 7:11 am

2 reviews available

Network: BBC one ( United Kingdom)
Type: Scripted
Genres: Crime, Drama
Status: Returning Series
Airs: Sundays at 09:00 pm
Runtime: 90 Minutes
Premiere: November 30, 2008
Episodes Order: 3
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor