Tony Awards

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards–short for the Antoinette Perry Awards for Excellence in Theatre–are presented in recognition of excellence in Broadway productions. The awards were founded in 1947, but weren't broadcast nationally until 1967, when they premiered as an hour-long special on ABC. The broadcast switched to NBC for three years, then returned to ABC until CBS took over in 1978. CBS has broadcast the awards ceremony ever since, though from 1997-2002, the first hour of the awards ceremony were broadcast on PBC, while the final two hours were televised by CBS; the show is now three hours entirely on CBS. There were only eleven awards in 1947, but there are now 25 awards, with several additional special awards.

Episode Info

Prev: 49x01 -- The 69th Annual Tony Awards (Jun/07/2015)

The 69th Annual Tony Awards hosted by Alan Cumming is live tonight from Radio City Music Hall in New York City, New York. There will be special performances by Brian d'Arcy James, Christian Borle, Kelsey Grammer, Kristin Chenoweth, Tyne Daly & Vanessa Hudgens.

Alan CummingAlan Cumming
As Himself (Co-Host 2015)
Kristin ChenowethKristin Chenoweth
As Herself (Co-Host 2015)
Hugh JackmanHugh Jackman
As Himself (Host 2003-2005, 2014)
Neil Patrick HarrisNeil Patrick Harris
As Himself (Host 2009, 2011-2013)
Sean Hayes (2)Sean Hayes (2)
As Himself (Host 2010)
Whoopi GoldbergWhoopi Goldberg
As Herself (Host 2008)
Bernadette PetersBernadette Peters
As Herself (Co-Host 1975, 2002)
Gregory HinesGregory Hines
As Himself (Co-Host 1995, 2002)
Matthew BroderickMatthew Broderick
As Himself (Co-Host 2001)
Nathan LaneNathan Lane
As Himself (Co-Host 1995, Host 1996, Co-Host 2000-2001)

view full cast list, character guides

No reviews yet, write the first review
Recurring Guests

Angela Lansbury (6 eps)
Robert Preston (1) (4 eps)
Nathan Lane (3 eps)
Rosie O'Donnell (3 eps)
Hugh Jackman (3 eps)
Julie Andrews (3 eps)
Lena Horne (3 eps)
Leslie Uggams (2 eps)
Diahann Carroll (2 eps)
Michele Lee (2 eps)

View All Recurring Guests
Classification: Award Show
Status: Returning Series
Network: CBS ( USA)
Airs: Sundays at 08:00 pm
Runtime: 180 Minutes
Premiere: March 26, 1967
• The Annual Tony Awards (Alternate title), (Used In USA)
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor