An Idiot Abroad

An Idiot Abroad

Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant are outraged that Karl has written off the Seven Wonders claiming they’re all “a bit s**t” having never seen any of them with his own eyes. They’ve thrown down the gauntlet to send him around the globe to force him out of his comfort zone. Stephen wants the experience to broaden Karl’s mind and change his outlook on the world. Ricky wants Karl to hate every minute of it for his own amusement.

Dispatched on what many would term a journey of a lifetime, the ‘little Englander’ will be putting his misgivings to one side as Karl finds out for himself what the fuss is about. He will travel to the Great Wall of China, Christ the Redeemer in Brazil, Petra in Jordan, Machu Picchu in Peru, Chichen Itza in Mexico, the Taj Mahal in India and the Great Pyramids of Egypt. Meanwhile Gervais and Merchant will be keeping a watchful eye from London, monitoring every step of Pilkington’s journey. The conclusion of the series will see the weary traveler returning home to report on his findings.

Karl commented: “I can’t wait to get started. Not ‘cos I’m excited but ‘cos the sooner we start the sooner it will be over. The fact the nurse gave me an injection that protects me from dirty chimps put a dampener on the whole thing. I don’t think Ross Kemp has to have that injection.” (Source: Sky One)

Episode Info

Prev: S03-Special -- A Commentary (Dec/21/2012)

A previous trip to India is revisited with new footage.

Available Episodes

Dec 14, 2012
Season 3 episode 3

Dec 07, 2012
Season 3 episode 2

Nov 30, 2012
Season 3 episode 1

Karl Comes Home
Nov 11, 2011
Season 2 episode 8

Climb Mount Fuji
Nov 04, 2011
Season 2 episode 7

Route 66
Oct 28, 2011
Season 2 episode 6

Meet a Gorrilla
Oct 21, 2011
Season 2 episode 5

Karl PilkingtonKarl Pilkington
As Himself
Ricky GervaisRicky Gervais
As Himself
Stephen MerchantStephen Merchant
As Himself

No reviews yet, write the first review

Classification: Reality
Genre: Comedy | Travel
Status: Ended
Network: sky 1 ( United Kingdom)
Airs: Tuesdays at 09:00 pm
Runtime: 60 Minutes
Premiere: September 05, 2010
Ended: December 14, 2012
• An Idiot Abroad 2: The Bucket List (Series 2 Title)
• An Idiot Abroad 3: The Short Way Round (Series 3 Title)
• An Idiot Abroad: Lost Luggage (Alternate Season 3 title), (Used In USA)
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor