Login or register  

The "Red Bull Cliff Diving" World Series follows the traditional high diving format and is a mix of the rules from FINA and HDA. Divers hand in their planned dives the day before the first day of competition – dives shall consist of two required dives of a fixed Degree of Difficulty (DD) of 3.8 and two optional dives assigned a Degree of Difficulty computed from the HDA (High Diving Alliance) table – and are scored by five high-diving judges.

The winner of each individual tour stop is the diver with the highest points total from all four competition dives and the ranked athletes from each tour stop will be awarded with points according to the table below. The winner of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2014 will be the athlete with the highest overall points after seven competitions.

10 permanent divers will participate in the 2014 World Series. Each tour stop in 2014 will feature up to four wildcards. Even though wildcard divers may only compete in one or two individual events, their results will count the same as for any of the permanent divers. A diver must perform at least one dive in competition to be included in the final result.

Seeding Round: 1 required dive (DD 3.8) - 14 divers. Results determine the pairings for the head-to-head the following day. Points count towards the final results.
Round 1: Head-to-head: 1 required dive (DD 3.8) - 14 divers
Round 2: Head-to-head: 1 optional dive - 14 divers
Final Round: 1 optional dive - 8 divers

Ahead of each competition a draw will determine the diving order for the Seeding Round. The Seeding Round will feature one required dive with a fixed DD of 3.8, the results of which will determine the pairings for the two head-to-head rounds (Rounds 1 and 2) the following day; 1st goes against 14th, 2nd against 13th, etc.

In the head-to-head rounds, all divers do one required dive (DD 3.8) and one optional dive. In the event of 14 divers starting the competition, seven winners will advance from the head-to-heads, taking into account their total score from Rounds 1 and 2 and the Seeding Round. There will also be one lucky loser (the diver with the highest score of all the beaten divers). The eight remaining divers will do a second optional dive in the Final Round. The diving order will be determined by the points accumulated from the first three rounds of dives and will be in reverse order. The winner will be the one with the highest points total from all four competition dives.

Divers will receive points that will be tallied to produce the World Series ranking. (Source: Red Bull)

Episode Info

Prev: 4x05 -- Sao Miguel, Portugal (Sep/22/2014)

This week the "Red Bull Cliff Diving" tour is in the Portuguese archipelago of the Azores less than one kilometer from the coastline of Saõ Miguel at the Islet of Vila Franca do Campo, named after the village on the mainland.

This competition took place on 26 July 2014.


No reviews yet, write the first review

Warning: Red Bull Cliff Diving guide may contain spoilers
Classification: Sports
Genre: Action | Drama | Talent
Status: Returning Series
Network: FOX SPORTS 1 ( USA)
Airs: Saturdays at 03:00 pm
Runtime: 120 Minutes
Premiere: October 11, 2010
Episode Order: 7
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor