Login or register  

STRIP THE CITY uses stunning CGI animation and expedition-driven actuality to strip major cities naked of their steel, concrete, air, ocean and bedrock—layer by layer, act by act—to explore their hidden infrastructure and solve key mysteries surrounding their origins, geology, archaeology, industry, weather and engineering. Each episode will home in on six iconic features of each city. Each icon, ranging from man-made skyscrapers and metro systems to natural dunes and lakes, will take us a layer deeper into the city.

Episode Info

Prev: 2x08 -- Earthquake City - Los Angeles (Mar/26/2014)

Strip The City uses stunning CGI animation to strip the world’s most extreme earthquake city – Los Angeles - naked of its steel, concrete, ocean and rock – layer by layer – to explore the secret technology and infrastructure that keeps it standing in a killer quake.

Los Angeles is standing on the brink of a catastrophic earthquake as this entertainment capital of the world sits on one of the world’s most infamous earthquake hotspots – the San Andreas Fault.

How does the city’s buildings and infrastructure survive the onslaught of a destructive earthquake? This film looks beneath the city’s skin to discover the engineering wonders and geological forces that make it possible. Stunning CGI animation peels back the glass off its skyscrapers and steel off its bridges to reveal their inner workings.

The city’s leading surveyors and geologists reveal the secrets that keep LA’s skyscrapers standing, protect its roads and aqueducts and prepare its residents for ‘the Big One’. The film explores the geology that shaped the city’s past and challenges its future, from the oil reserves that attracted the first settlers to the fault line where a massive earthquake is long overdue.


No reviews yet, write the first review

Warning: Strip the City guide may contain spoilers
Classification: Animation
Genre: Animation General | Discovery/Science
Status: Returning Series
Network: Science ( USA)
Airs: Wednesdays at 10:00 pm
Runtime: 60 Minutes
Premiere: February 05, 2013
Episode Order: 8
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor