Show Tidbits
Survivor: Cook Islands was the first time the final tribal council had more than 2 contestants. Cook Island had 3.
Season 13 (Cook Island) was the first time that three contestants made it to the final tribal council.
In all, there have been 348 total American Survivor contestants over the 19 seasons, 20 of whom were able to compete twice in two different seasons. These 20 were all 18 Survivor: All-Stars players, Stephenie LaGrossa, and Bobby Jon Drinkard. In addition, Lillian Morris and Burton Roberts got to play twice in the same season when they were voted back into Survivor: Pearl Islands.
Both winners in the British series won the grand prize by a 7-0 vote. No grand prize winner on any of the other series have won by a 7-0 vote. There were, however, four cases in the American version in which a contestant has won by a 6-1 vote. The first was in the Amazon, where Jenna Morasca defeated Matthew Von Ertfelda. The following season, Pearl Islands, Sandra Diaz-Twine beat Lillian Morris. In Survivor Palau, firefighter Tom Westman won over Katie Gallagher. Most recently, in Guatemala, Survivor's eleventh season, the vote was 6-1 when Stephanie Lagrossa was beaten by Danni Boatwright.
Series host Jeff Probst declared that strategic mastermind Rob Cesternino from Survivor: The Amazon was the "smartest player to never win."
Tom Buchanan holds the record for most days on Survivor ever, with 73 (37 days on Survivor: Africa and 36 on Survivor: All-Stars). Amber Brkich comes in a close second, with 72 (33 on Survivor: The Australian Outback and 39 on All-Stars). Stephenie LaGrossa is third with 69 days (30 on Survivor: Palau and 39 on Survivor: Guatemala).
The first twist ever was a swapping of tribe members. This has happened six times in the first twelve seasons. (Survivor: Africa, Survivor: Marquesas, Survivor: The Amazon, Survivor: All-Stars, Survivor: Vanuatu, and Survivor: Guatemala). Guatemala and Africa did this the earliest, on day ten (according to the review-of-season montage in the finale).
The winner of the car reward challenge has never gone on to win the title of "Sole Survivor". This has become known as the "Car Curse." This was most prevalant in Survivor: Guatemala episode 13, when Cindy Hall was given a chance to give up her car that she had won in a Reward Challenge in exchange for all four of the remaining contestants to receive a car. She reluctantly refused and was promptly voted out at the subsequent tribal council, due to Rafe and Danni deciding that it wasn't fair for Cindy to keep her car, instead of giving it to them after they had lost the challenge. The odds of any given player being the car winner is 1/16. Therefore, the likelihood that, after 13 seasons, the car winner would never be the sole survivor is 40.5%. Thus the term "curse" is employed here to describe a reasonably likely outcome.
All winners of the loved one visit reward have always gone on to lose, but there has been no real reference to this as a "curse."
The Amazing Race host, Phil Keoghan, was considered as a host for Survivor, but was told that being a New Zealander counted against him.
Burton Roberts is the only player in the history of the game to be voted out twice in one season. Other returning player Lillian Morris came in second and was subsequently never officially voted out a second time.
Survivor: Cook Islands will not air in Singapore, due to the worry that it might arouse racial tensions.
Candice Woodcock of Survivor: Cook Islands is the first players in the show's history to not set foot in tribal council by the fifth episode.
Survivor Fiji is the first season to start with an odd number of castaways.
Cirie, Colby, Jerri, JT, Parvati, Rob, Rupert, Russell, Stephenie and Tom all from Survivor 20: Heroes vs. Villains presented the Top Ten List on Letterman, on Wednesday 02/10.


Classification: Reality
Genre: Adventure | Competition
Status: Returning Series
Network: CBS ( USA)
Airs: Wednesdays at 08:00 pm
Runtime: 60 Minutes
Premiere: May 31, 2000
Episode Order: 15
There currently is no editor for this guide..
Click here to apply if you want to be the editor